Tuesday, 4 Oct 2022
Awards News

Xplore Presents the Winners of the 2014 NMAs

The 3rd edition of the 2014 Nollywood Movie Awards, took place yesterday at the ground ballroom of the Intercontinental Hotel, Kofo Abayomi Street Victoria Island and Xplore was there live to get the scoop. The ceremony is the second one I am attending and I must add, that the row call of nominees was pretty tough. The actors and actresses had an impressive outing as I had to give some of them second looks.

Frederick Leonard of “Accident” fame was too dapper in his white tux, Ufuoma Ejenobor dazzled in an emerald green number that spoke volumes.

While the newbies on the Nollywood scene, Demola Adedoyin of “October 1 and  Charles “Chucky” Venn of “Ivasion 1897” also held their own on the green carpet.


I could go on and on about the various outfits adorned by our Nollywood celebrities, but I am here to present this year’s winners list.

The full list of all the winners, are:

Best Movie

Winner: A Mile From Home

Confusion Na Wa

I toro

Make a Move



Flower Girl

Brother’s Keeper

Best Lead Male

OC Ukeje – Confusion Na Wa

Tope Tedela – A Mile From Home

Kalu Ikeagwu – False

Winner: Mike Ezuruonye – Unforgivable

Blossom Chukwujekwu – Finding Mercy

Frederick Leonard – The Accident

Gbenga Akinnagbe – Render to Caesar

Yul Edochie – Chioma the Weeping Queen

Best Lead Female

Nse Ikpe-Etim Sule – I Come Lagos

Winner: Ireti Doyle- Torn

Chioma Akpotha – The Accident

Mercy Johnson – Hustlers

Dayo Amusa – Unforgivable

Joke Silva – The Visitor

Uche Jombo Rodriguez – False

Damilola Adegbite – Flower Girl

Best Actor (Supporting Role)

Ikponmwosa Gold – Confusion Na Wa

Keppy Ekpeyong-Bassey – Itoro

Wale Adebayo – Make a Move

Winner: Lucky Ejim – Render to Caesar 

Wale Macaulay – The Accident

Best Actress (Supporting Role)

Winner: Emem Udonquak – Itoro

Abiola Segun-Williams – Finding Mercy

Clarion Chukwura Abiola – Hustlers

Ebele Okaro Onyiuke – Leave My Tears

Bikiya Graham-Douglas – Flower Girl

Best Actor Indigenous

Okey Bakassi (Onye Ozi)

Bayo Alawiye (Atanda)

Odunlade Adekola (Mufu Olooha)

Winner- Afeez Eniola (Alakada)

Best Actress Indigenous

Queen Nwokoye (Ada Mbano)

Ngozi Igwebike (Onye Ozi)

Winner: Dayo Amusa (Unforgivable)

Toyin Aimakhu Johnson (Alakada )

Rita Edward – Misfit

Best Movie Indigenous


Winner – Onyi Ozi


Ada Mbano



Best Director

A mile from home – Eric Aghimien

Itoro – Moses Inwang

False – Ike Nnaebue

Winner: Confusion Na Wa – Kenneth Gyang 

Flower Girl – Michelle Bello

Torn – Moses Inwang

Render to Caesar – Desmond Ovbiagele

Unforgivable – Desmond Elliot

Best Editing

Render to Caesar – Steve Sodiya

False – Ike Nnaebue

Itoro – Moses Inwang

Brother’s keeper – Okey Benson and Okey Oku

Winner: Flower Girl – Kunle Laguda

The Accident – Teco Benson

Best Sound Design

Secret Room – Maurice Kings

Winner: Flower Girl – Kayode Nero Ilelaboye though we were corrected that it was done by Kunle Laguda

Kidnap – Not specified

Render to Caesar – Michael Ogunlade

Best Cinematography

Render to Caesar – Johnny Askwith

A Mile From Home – Eric Aghimien

False – Joseph Oladunjoye

Misplaced – Tom Robson/ Dickson Godwin

Winner: Confusion Na Wa – Yinka Edward

Flower Girl – James Costello

Best Screenplay

A Mile From Home – Not specified

False – Ike Nnaebue/ Foluke Amanfo

Winner: Render to Caesar – Desmond Ovbiagele

Finding Mercy – Kehinde Olorunyomi-Odukoya

Accident – Tai Obasi

Unforgivable – Jovi Babs & Olamilekan Daniels

Best Costume Design

False – Ngozi Jombo (Divas and Divos)

After The Proposal – Ngozi Jombo

Winner: The Village Boy I love – Ogoo Okechi and Doris Kalu

A Mile From Home – Godwin Aghimien

Best Make Up

A Mile From Home – Not specified

Brother’s keeper – Mathew Alechenu

False – Chichi Okafor (Faceville)

Winner: Honeymoon Hotel – Madeline Viijeon/Geordi Binstend/Kirsty Williams/ Israel Moses

Unforgivable – Abiolah Makeup world

Best Set Design

A Mile From Home – Eric Aghimien and Biodun Olagbaju

Dream walker – Not specified

False – Ujay Studio

Itoro – Not specified

Winner: Flower Girl – Derick Nwa-Jesus (props)

Best Soundtrack

Winner: Flower Girl – Efya (Best in me)

A Mile From Home – Vincent Umukoro

False – Don L37

Render to Caesar – Michael Ogunlade and Seun Owoaje

Atanda – Celestine Adeeko Owolabi

Unforgivable – Izuchukwu Anozie Vincent

Best Diaspora Movie

Winner: Onyi Ozi


Shameful Deceit

Best Short Movie

Winner: Brave

Date Gone Bad


Not Right

New Horizon

Kabu Kabu

Best Rising Star, Male

Winner: Tope Tedela

Blossom Chuks Chukwujekwu

Okey Uzoeshi

Alex Ekubo

Lucky Ejim (Render to Caesar)

Shawn Faqua

Best Rising Star, Female

Lilian Esoro

Lala Akindoju

Daniella Okeke

Tamara Eteimo

Dabota Lawson

Emem Uduquak 

Winner: Ivie Okujaye

Best Child Actor

Winner: Onyindamola Lapejo (Finding Mercy)

Helger Sosthenes (Make a Move)


Titilayo Shobo (Unforgivable)



Popular Choice Awards

Popular Choice Female- Mercy Johnson

Popular Choice Male- Odulade Adekola

Top Box Office movie- The Weekend Getaway

Best TV/Web series


Humanity Award

Dr. Stella Ameyo-Adadewoh 

What do you think about the winners list? Totally deserving or WTH, let me know what you think in the comment section as I implore you to watch out for another version of “What Rocked and “What Sucked” at the NMAs…

No votes yet.
Please wait...
Voting is currently disabled, data maintenance in progress.
Share this:

Post Comment