Tuesday, 22 Sep 2020
General Interest Stories

Eric Aghimien’s Award Winning “Slow Country” To Premiere in May

After a sensational win at the 5th Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award, Eric Aghimien’s Slow Country is now ready to be launched. The action-thriller which was first released at the 2016 Real Time Film Festivalmovie will debut across cinemas on May 5th, 2017.

Set in Nigeria, Slow Country follows the life of Kome, a homeless teenage mother, who in a bid to cater and secure a good life for her son, sought refuge in the arms of a drug kingpin. The kingpin quickly ushers her into the world of prostitution and drug trafficking, but later when she decides to quit, he refuses to hear of it.

The movie won the Audience Choice Award at the 2016 Africa International Film Festival and also earned Sambasa Nzeribe (The Wedding Party) his second consecutive AMVCA win (Best Actor in a Drama).

The writer-director, Eric Aghimien, is well known for his previous feature film – A Mile From Home (2013) – a film revolving around a university student who joined a gang in his quest to avenge an injustice meted out on him by a notorious gangster.

Eric Aghimien’s sleuth of awards include the 2013 Blueprint Awards (Movie Producer of the Year), 2014 The Africa Film Festival and Academy Awards (Best Editor), 2014 Nollywood Movies Awards (Best Movie), and the 2014 Golden Icons Academy Movie Awards (Best Director) to name a few. His short film, Leeway (2014), won two awards at the 2014 International Short Film Festival and a nomination for the Best New Media-Online Video at the 3rd Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards.

Speaking on Slow Country he said, “Crafting a great action film in Nigeria is no child’s play. Every character in the movie was carefully built and the each of the cast member portrayed their characters well. This movie is a must watch for all and I promise it will not only be worth your time but also your money”.

The movie stars Majid Michel, Richards Brutus, Sambasa Nzeribe, Ivie Okujaye, Tope Tedela, Gina Castel, and Kolade Shassi among others.

No votes yet.
Please wait...
Voting is currently disabled, data maintenance in progress.
Share this:

Post Comment